Release

“And in the spring I shed my skin
And it blows away with the changing winds
The waters turn from blue to red
As towards the sky I offer it”
~Florence and the Machine, Rabbit Heart

I’m ridding myself
of everything.
I’m done
with the trinkets
and spider-web connections
to the past.
These old letters
don’t serve me
and dust collects
on crystal glass.

There are volumes
of memories
fading to powder
in my hands,
and time erases
the places in my head.
Words echo,
but never touch ground,
so I move forward
and let them all
evanish.

I will slice open
my own skin
to find my heart;
to find the places
I hid deep
in the dark.
My sacrifice
will be my own start,
and only I
can set me free.

~JL©2015

2 thoughts on “Release

Leave a Reply

